Kind Words about the DL Equine Nutrition Difference

Optimium Nutrition leads to physical, behavioural and performance improvements. But don't take my word for it...

Stronger Performances
Calmer Temperaments
Enhanced Muscle Tone
Beautiful Coats
Healthier Hooves
Fewer Vet Bills
Healthier Horse in Body & Mind

Ellie O’brien

Finesse Equestrian 2020

Mineral Imbalances - Dale has been a god send

I was devastated seeing my wee pony go from cruisey and carrying my daughter around at a show to a anxious mess within a week. He progressively got worse and I couldn’t figure out what it was… Until we realized it was an imbalance in his nutrition and contacted Dale Logan from DL Equine who has been a god send in getting him happy again and making sure he is getting the right feed and supplements to support him.

I’ve loved how thorough she is in creating a plan specific to him and regularly following up to see how we are going.

I’m over the moon to be back on track again with a happy horse and knowing I’m not wasting my money on all the wrong things with no improvements.

K Batley at the Taupo Dressage Championship 2019

Calm, loving his work, feet improved and looks at million dollars

I would just like to thank Dale for helping us create a diet especially for our new horse Monty. We purchased him 6 months ago and we are so pleased with how he is going, he is calm, loving his work, his feet have improved and he looks a million dollars.

Thanks Dale

Before

After


Estelle Warner

2019

Gut Ulcer Repair 

I had had my horse for 6 months when he had to be taken off grass in April as his behaviour changed. Yes, grass affected, but unfortunately, despite being fed hay, he dropped a lot of weight.

He had been anxious since the day he was dropped off to me and I found he had severe separation anxiety, not the ‘easy’ horse I thought I had signed up for. None of this helped with weight gain. I tried feeding him up all winter, but despite having plenty of energy, he really was just a bag of bones.

In November/ early December I was lucky enough to have Dale analyse his diet and when she sent through recommendations, I was determined to give it a go. Only a couple of his feeds were changed, but she tweaked his supplements and changed the brands. What a difference it made! Within 1 month he had noticeably put on weight.

Now 2 months later he looks amazing. No more ribs, no bony bum, no skinny neck, lovely dapples, really chilled; he’s even been jokingly called fat! And I have had lots of really positive comments of how good he looks and what did I do differently – DL Equine has been mentioned every time.

Bubbles before DL Equine

Before

Bubbles after DL equine

After


D Adamson

2021

 Aged pony with no teeth


Meet the adorable Bubbles.

Bubbles arrived at his new owner's place very underweight and unhealthy. His new owner immediately got the vet to check his teeth and it was found that poor wee Bubbles is quite aged (possibly around 30years old) only has a few teeth left and NO molars to chew with. The before photo is actually a way into the new feeding programme.

This meant that this wee pony could not eat grass or hay or any stalky chaff. He was quidding. This is essentially where a horse will pull out bits of grass and being unable to actually chew it up and swallow it they ball it up and it can get stuck up the side of their mouths or they spit out little balls of grass and saliva.

This is a huge concern as the horse or pony is not receiving enough dry matter, forage or nourishment from their pasture and gets malnourished. On top of this ulcers can develop in the gut and also there is an increased risk of colic. Not enough nutrients means poor immune systems, poor coat and hooves.

Bubbles new owner had already done an amazing job of getting him to gain condition before she contacted me. And the reality of an aged horse with no teeth that cant even eat hay; is their life span is limited. There is also a risk of choke.

Bubbles is loving his carefully selected and balanced feeding programme and is thriving!

Im so happy to be a part of Bubbles golden years with his special role in his new family

S Kenington


Feb 2022  

Aged Horse Herd Health 

Keeping all in the herd in good condition when they are such different keepers - putting hay out for the lighter keeper and the good keeper scoffs it. Balancing separation to meet varied feeding needs but togetherness for social needs.

Thanks for the advice about a paddock within a paddock and separating them by a hot tape for part of the day and that oldie needs hay more than grass due to water content vs fibre x


Before - Sept 2021

After - Nov 2021

Mini with Metabolic & Laminitis Issues doing great

I thought I would send you a pic of the little man. Despite his delicate feet, he's looking great on his new diet and really slimmed down. Seems much happier in himself too!

K Macdonald

2021

Calm, Health and Happy

Dale did a great job with my tricky thoroughbred. She listened and created a plan around what was best for the horse and owners aims health wise.

Thank you! He is definitely calmer on this feed. He looks perfect for a horse in full work. He looks healthy and overall, very happy. Great communicator. Highly recommend.

C Bridgeman


Feb 2022

Gut Ulcer Health

I just wanted to send a quick note to say thank you so much for your help - I really feel like I have seen significant improvements in A already on his new diet.

He already seems so much happier in himself - he hasn't been posturing at all (was doing it pretty consistently before!). Seems much more satiated and acts less hungry between feeds - which I am likening to him being like a kid going from candy to porridge 😄 

His tumm is much happier! Thanks so much for your help, 

Chelsea

Jacqui Phillips

2021

High selenium resolved

Jacqui had 2 horses with consistently high blood selenium levels. Jacqui did all the right things, she discussed things with a vet, she had a pasture analysis done and came to me a nutritionist to work from the exact results of the blood test and the pasture test to formulate the right diet for her horses:

Hi Dale,
Results have just come in for our follow up Selenium tests and the fantastic news is that both horses are back to within normal range!  Birdie 2941 and Tussock 2607.

Thank you for your amazing help in balancing out their diets, I really feel that you have gone above and beyond in your efforts to help me get this perplexing problem sorted. You have obviously put in an enormous amount of work researching the issues and then answering my many questions – way beyond the monetary value you’ve placed on your services. 

Thank you for making excellent nutritional advice so accessible. I also really appreciated the phone conversation which helped me understand the reasoning behind the various recommendations. Birdie is looking wonderful – his weight has improved dramatically and he is looking very healthy. 

A testimonial to your wonderful work.

S Mark

2022

Competitive Edge in Competition Horse 

Huge thanks for sorting our horse feeds out properly, with so much conflicting information out there it’s been really tricky to get our boys feeds right for their differing needs.

So glad to have found your amazing service.

Made everything very easy and we are seeing positive changes in our boys.

Thanks so much, highly recommend dale she has been an absolute angel to work with and is always available for ideas, recommendations or even ideas on how to get the weight of some fat minis! ❤️

- she has been amazing lately, thank you so much. Everything in this post is %100 true x

S Mark

Misty had hormonal issues that were solved by the a tailored nutrition programme

Christina

2018

Mare Hormonal Issues solved

Do you have a mare continually in season? Difficult to control? Are you at your wits end? Fear not, there is hope and I can help. Read all about Christina’s journey and success with her mare below.

My journey so far with Misty has had many highs and lows. I bought her against nearly everyone’s advice and many times I wished I hadn’t. She was everything I said I would never buy. A young Arab Warmblood. A mare. Young and green as grass. Her flight instinct was strong.

She had no focus and was concerned about everything going on around her. Not exactly what I wanted for dressage. She would show stallion tendencies. Neck arching roaring grunting pawing striking and kicking out the back at her worst. It seemed she was in season all the time.

I tried herbal sedatives and anxiety herbs chaste berry liquid and dried. Too many to mention. She had homeopath remedies We had minimal success. Riding her became dangerous at times. She would just spin and put me on the ground. And yet I had glimpses of what she could be and that’s what kept me trying.

I gave Dale Logan a ring to see if she could help. Dale changed her diet and made a herbal remedy up for Misty’s hormones and she was on them for 3 months. After 2 weeks I noticed she was calmer and then week by week she just got better. By the 12th week I had fallen in love with Misty who was trying her heart out to please. It’s now 5 months later and there has been no relapse.

Dale was supportive through the whole process and always answered my calls texts and emails. Misty is still nosey and wants to know whose doing what and where but she is now able to focus when I ride her.

B Hall

2018

Ultimate Health and Coat

Hi Dale, a verybig thank you for the help getting Goldies Diet under control.

She is looking much more slender! and perhaps the most obvious dramatic change has been her coat which despite having been on flaxseed oil for 6 months prior, was dry and stark, is now soft and shiny and a lot darker.

Her behavior is a lot more even keel and predictable.

Kirsty Ansell – Working Equitation, Auckland, New Zealand

2017

Significant Difference in condition & hoof health

I started my two horses Ruby (station bred xTb ) & Quiver (Tb) on Dale’s recommended diet 5 months ago & have noticed a significant difference in their overall condition & improvement in their hoof health, Quiver had very fragile hooves but they have become significantly stronger over the past 5 months.

Quiver is difficult to keep weight on but with this diet I have managed to keep her at a steady healthy weight. I have also been using Dale’s herbal prescriptions for pain management when Ruby tore a piece of muscle from her cheek bone, foot access pain in Quiver, & helping with behavior modification as Quiver suffers from separation anxiety.

I would highly recommended using Dale’s expertise in equine dietary needs & herbal health.

amanda winstanley, testimonial, dl equine, diet, recommended, improvement, individual

Amanda T Winstanley, CEqDT Certified Equine Dental Technician 2017

Advice based on extremely thorough assessment led to energy lift & dramatic coat improvement

I was keen to get some proper nutritional advice for my 12 year old Clydie cross gelding who I had owned for 7 years. As he is the type to “run off the smell of an oily rag” I had never really paid too much attention to any particular feeding regime. However some key issues I wanted to improve upon were his coat condition and some extra energy in the “impulsion” department.

Dale was extremely thorough in her assessment of him and offered really sound nutritional advice. I’m happy to report his coat improved dramatically – one friend actually thought I had bought a new horse as his coat had gone so dark and glossy.

Energy levels had increased so that I have been getting really pleasing comments and marks in our Level 3 dressage tests. Sadly at one point I did stray away from the diet plan (no proper excuses other than busy with work and holiday plans) and there was an immediate difference in his behavior and coat condition.

Big thank you to Dale for her food plan and I highly recommend her services.

Debbie Quick – Auckland , New Zealand 2020

Brighter, happier and moving more freely with arthritis

I own an ex endurance Arab who has also been a broodmare and is now retired at the age of 22. The feed that DL Equine has recommended is balanced good feed and nutrition providing herbal health with arthritis and general overall health improvement.

Since Jasmine has been on the feed recommendation and arthritis herbal mixture she has gone from being a sour mare who I had to catch to apply the syringe of herbal mixture (she hates anything being syringed in her mouth and worming was a nightmare), to actually opening her mouth and grabbing for the syringe without having to catch her at all.

She appears brighter and happier all round and is moving quite freely despite her age.

I highly recommend anybody who is wanting to get the best out of their equine friend to try the products and recommendations of feed by Dale.

Diets & Respiratory Allergy Treatment work!

Jane Pike

S Dyer

 2021

From Heaves to a picture of health

Late 2020 my mare was diagnosed with heaves following a prolonged period of coughing & difficulty breathing, even at rest in the paddock. Her riding future became uncertain & my immediate concern was how we could manage her condition so that she could, at the bare minimum, be comfortable in the paddock.

Some research into management of her condition around nutrition lead me to email a number of Equine nutritionists, Dale was one of the first to reply and gave a full & comprehensive answer giving me hope this may indeed be an option to improve her quality of life. We started our formulated diet plan in January, at that time my mare had been utilising an inhaler to help with her breathing.

Since that point we have not required any medical intervention to manage her heaves and her breathing is normal, she is also being ridden again regularly with no issues. Both our horses are now on nutrition plans & are a picture of health with shiny coats & happy, calm demeanour. 

I have found Dale to be concise & detailed in all information she provides, and she has responded promptly to the numerous questions I have asked -particularly during our transition onto the diet. I highly recommend Dale to anyone who has questions around Equine nutrition, I believe her help has been the key ingredient to giving my mare her quality of life back.

Before

After


Belinda Rodriguez
Waimauku Vaulting Club Manager 2019

Resolving Severe Gut Ulcers means Cairo gained condition in winter

Here is a little snippet about Cairo’s rehabilitation.
2 pictures attached. The first is from April 2018 and the other is Cairo looking great on 22nd October 2018.

My horse, Cairo, had been losing condition and no amount of feeding seemed to be keeping him at a sufficient weight. He was leaving food in his bucket and showing signs of irritation when touched under his belly. I had him scoped for ulcers and found that he had a severe case.

Cairo went on medication for ulcers and I also enlisted the help of Dale for advice on maintaining his diet and health post medication. She recommended a feeding plan and herbs specifically for his case. Over the winter, when his condition usually drops the most, he regained condition.

I am so happy to have a healthy horse again and to have learned so much about nutrition from Dale, who has been supportive and extremely helpful. I highly recommend her products and services.

Before

After


Ellie O'brien

2020

Gastric Ulcers resolved after following diet

Before and after testimonial for getting your horse with gastric ulcers on a vital nutrition diet formulated by DL Equine.

Before

After


R Williams - Auckland, NZ

2018

Skin Allergies resolved with feed & supplements

My horse was starting with hive like bumps then extending into huge welts. The skin then changed and started to show signs typical to that of bacterial rain scald causing scabs.

Later the coat was dull scurfy and brittle with patches of no hair growth.

He was going through a major itching issue during this period. Literally at my wits end checking feed, grasses, hay, tree pollen, etc. I tried everything, to the extent my vets were ready to get him on a trial with a Skin Specialist from the USA visiting here in New Zealand.

Speaking with Dale and after going through a detailed assessment she came up with a special feed program and an individual prescription of liquid herbs.

Dale was professional and support and supportive throughout. His coat has come back with coverage, depth of colour, healthy shine and most important the itching has stopped.

Many thanks to Dale for introducing me to Equine Herbal Medicine.

Richard

Thoroughbred Broodmare Reproductive Issues Solved

Improvement in her is amazing, she's been on the new diet and trots over to the feed bin, and I see her having a playful roll followed by a good shake a lot more than she used to,

M Franklin

2021

Metabolic & Hormonal Mare Issues are a thing of the past

Lovely review from dedicated client and a mare with bad cycling issues and unable to lose weight. A DL Equine individual diet and Sovereign mare herbal formula gave Monique back her lovely companion.

'When we 1st started with you Sassy was 515kg now she is 505kg. It has been be been a great riding, back to her normal. Sassy not looking so obese, more stream line, and can see faint out line of ribs... her neck is nice and soft and puffiness above her eyes is very minimal.

Also this summer months of riding Sassy has been the best and well balanced she been since purchasing her 3 years ago.

Before - Sept 2020

After - May 2021


Virginie Hannah, Aus

Underweight to looking & feeling good in 6 months

A couple of months after getting Marty, I came across Dale & her nutrition services.  Marty is my first horse, OTTSB and I was getting very confused/ overwhelmed by the amount of feeding choices/options. 

And whilst everyone around had an opinion on what was best, I was just keen to get it right as he was v underweight.  I didn’t want a quick fix but a plan that I knew was right for him, for his level of exercises etc. 

Being remote from Dale wasn’t an issue (she has a v lengthy questionnaire & you need to take various pictures, so she can assess).

 What I like about Marty’s diet is that it’s SIMPLE.

It’s v important when you are in an agistment & rely on others to feed part of the time. 

6 months later; I knew Marty was looking good because everywhere we go I get asked “what do you feed him?”, but it’s not until I went back to old photos that I thought WOW, we are doing awesome!. 

I think a lot of people assume it’s easy to feed a horse.  Yes it is; but if you are interested in feeding him/her/them the right nutrition, getting Dale to work out a tailored nutrition plan is beyond worth it.

 I think the photos speak for themselves.

Thanks again Dale.

Jane Pike

Confident Rider

Liquid herbs happily received by syringe

What? you expect me to use a syringe and get a liquid into my horses mouth?! No way, my horse is a nightmare to worm, my horse wont take anything like a syringe into its mouth. My horse hates me putting stuff into his mouth.

My horse will not let me near her with a syringe, My horse is a clever one and soo fussy he wouldn’t eat those herbs!’ Sound like you or your friend and their horse? I’ve heard them all believe me.

Liquid herbs across the tongue get absorbed fast into the bloodstream and straight to work. Why on earth would you waste more horse money on dry herbs that have way less efficiency??

You don’t have to believe what I’m telling you. Watch the videos below. One a sensitive warmblood mare, owned by Jane Pike , 1 whole week into her herbal prescription.

Video by Jane Pike of Confident Rider
The other video in the video section is a super smart Arab who for most of her life wouldn’t let her owner safely worm her with a syringe.

Horses have an innate instinct for knowing whats good for them and they know when they need herbs, they are after all ‘Herbivores’

remove the guesswork

Using my unique and Comprehensive Consultation Questionnaire I take the guesswork out of feeding your horse

An effective diet is an art and a science - let me help you support your horses well-being from inside out